A simple veneer shooting board

16 Mar

A simple way to shoot straight edges on veneer fast and easy! I made a shooting board essentially that hooks on my bench. It’s long because I am typically shooting long lengths of veneer for stringing and inlays using my low angle jack or in some cases a number 7.
In order to hold the veneer in place I have glued 100 grit sandpaper to a equally long piece of half in mdf. This allows me to push down on the veneer while I’m shooting it and eliminate any sliding and shifting that could occur. This also allows me to orient the veneer in any position I need in the case of doing wedge shape pieces or other odd shapes.
A quick simple solution to something fundamental.

20130315-222001.jpg

20130315-222015.jpg

Leave a Reply

